I'm getting an error and I don't know why!

Apr 2, 2009 at 2:43 PM
Hi,

I'm a newbie to ASP.NET MVC and am getting the following error when I run the app. The strange thing is that when I set a breakpoint on the line preceding the one that gives the error (HttpContextBase context = filterContext.HttpContext;) and step through the code from there on, the error goes away and it works fine! By th way I am using MVC Release version 1

Any ideas?

Thanks
Paul

<title>Object reference not set to an instance of an object.</title> <style> BODY { FONT-WEIGHT: normal; FONT-SIZE: 0.7em; COLOR: black; FONT-FAMILY: "Verdana" } P { MARGIN-TOP: -5px; FONT-WEIGHT: normal; COLOR: black; FONT-FAMILY: "Verdana" } B { MARGIN-TOP: -5px; FONT-WEIGHT: bold; COLOR: black; FONT-FAMILY: "Verdana" } H1 { FONT-WEIGHT: normal; FONT-SIZE: 18pt; COLOR: red; FONT-FAMILY: "Verdana" } H2 { FONT-WEIGHT: normal; FONT-SIZE: 14pt; COLOR: maroon; FONT-FAMILY: "Verdana" } PRE { FONT-SIZE: 0.9em; FONT-FAMILY: "Lucida Console" } .marker { FONT-WEIGHT: bold; COLOR: black; TEXT-DECORATION: none } .version { COLOR: gray } .error { MARGIN-BOTTOM: 10px } .expandable { FONT-WEIGHT: bold; CURSOR: hand; COLOR: navy; TEXT-DECORATION: underline } </style>

Object reference not set to an instance of an object.

Description: An unhandled exception occurred during the execution of the current web request. Please review the stack trace for more information about the error and where it originated in the code.

Exception Details: System.NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.

Source Error:

Line 12:             HttpContextBase context = filterContext.HttpContext;
Line 13: 
Line 14:             string acceptEncoding = context.Request.Headers["Accept-Encoding"];
Line 15: 
Line 16:             if (!string.IsNullOrEmpty(acceptEncoding))

Source File: C:\Work\FlickrXplorer.Src\FlickrXplorer.Web\CompressResponseAttribute.cs    Line: 14

Stack Trace: